Injured in a drunk driving accident in West Virginia? Our experienced lawyers can help. West Virginia's dram shop act may allow you to sue the licensed establishment that served alcohol in violation of liquor laws.
- Over 40 years of combined trial experience
- Millions recovered in damages
- You owe nothing unless we secure compensation
Contact our dedicated legal team to learn more about filing a lawsuit.
"The Best Attorney." Brian kept me informed and always answered my questions.
Were you injured in a DUI accident? Nebraska's dram shop law may be able to help. While limited in its scope, the dram shop act allows some injury victims to file suit against licensed establishments who violate the law. In the wake of an alcohol-related accident, you may be eligible to pursue compensation from the bar, restaurant, nightclub or liquor store that served the alcohol, if the alcohol was served in a negligent manner.
Dram Shop Laws In Nebraska
Dram shop lawsuits must be founded in a violation of the dram shop act. In this context, the law only outlines one applicable violation, serving alcohol to a minor. If the minor, under the age of 21, becomes intoxicated and goes on to cause an accident, the establishment can be held accountable for allowing the intoxication to occur and contribute to the crash.
In some cases, dram shop liability can even extend to cover social hosts, people who serve alcohol at private parties. In this regard, the dram shop act outlines two potential violations that could lead to a viable dram shop claim:
- allowing a minor to drink alcohol on the social host's property
- purchasing alcohol for a minor
In these cases, injury victims may be able to hold the social host accountable for contributing to the minor's intoxication, if the minor goes on to cause a severe accident.
4-Year Statue Of Limitations
Like all other types of lawsuits, Nebraska dram shop lawsuits are governed by a rigorous statute of limitations. This law serves like a legal time limit, restricting the amount of time injury victims have to file suit.
The statute of limitations must be respected; if you file your case after the statute has run its course, your lawsuit will be dismissed. The statute of limitations for dram shop claims in Nebraska is currently 4 years, beginning on the date of the injury.