Were you or a loved one injured in a drunk driving accident? New Jersey's dram shop law may be able to help. Some victims are eligible to file suit against the bar, restaurant or nightclub that supplied the alcohol.
- Over 40 years in combined trial experience
- Millions secured in compensation
- You owe nothing unless we recover damages
Injured and out of work? Schedule your free consultation today.
"Very Professional." An awesome attorney who fought hard for me.
Were you or a loved one injured in a DUI accident in New Jersey? You may be eligible to secure significant financial compensation. New Jersey's dram shop act is a powerful law that allows victims who were injured in alcohol-related accidents to hold accountable the licensed establishment that served the alcohol in the first place.
Dram Shop Violations In New Jersey
New Jersey's dram shop law prohibits licensed establishments (like bars, restaurants and nightclubs) from selling alcohol in a negligent way. Licensed establishments are not allowed to serve alcohol to someone who is already visibly intoxicated. It's also illegal to serve alcohol to a minor, someone who is under the age of 21.
Licensed establishments who violate either of these provisions open themselves up to liability. If the intoxicated patron goes on to cause an alcohol-related accident later, the establishment can be held accountable for the injury victim's damages.
Social Host Liability
In New Jersey, dram shop liability even extends to cover social hosts, people who host private parties where alcohol is available. In some circumstances, social hosts can be held accountable for the actions of their drunken guests, as when a guest is negligently served alcohol, then goes on to cause a DUI accident.
Statute Of Limitations For Dram Shop Lawsuits
Like every other civil lawsuit, dram shop claims in New Jersey are governed by a strict statute of limitations. This law serves as a legal time limit, restricting the amount of time injury victims and their loved ones have to file suit. The statute of limitations must be followed. If you choose to file your case after the statute has run out, your lawsuit will be dismissed. The statute of limitations for dram shop lawsuits in New Jersey is currently 2 years, beginning on the date of injury.