Injured in a DUI accident in Georgia? Our experienced personal injury attorneys can help. Georgia's dram shop law may allow you to file suit against the licensed establishment that served the alcohol.
- 40 years of combined legal experience
- Millions recovered in financial compensation
- You owe nothing until we secure damages
Not sure how to get started? Contact our attorneys today for a free consultation.
"Thank You." Brian and his team were wonderful to work with.
Were you or a loved one injured in a drunk driving accident in Georgia? You may be eligible to secure significant financial compensation. Georgia's dram shop act allows injury victims and their loved ones to claim for compensation in the wake of alcohol-related accidents.
You may be able to sue the bar, restaurant, nightclub or liquor store that served or sold the alcohol involved in the crash, in the event that one of Georgia's liquor laws was violated in the alcohol's provision.
Dram Shop Laws In Georgia
While limited, dram shop liability in Georgia offers a powerful avenue for legal recourse to some injury victims. After a severe car accident, it's only reasonable to begin considering a lawsuit, but most of us believe we can only file suit against the drunk driver.
In actuality, you may have the right to file another lawsuit against the licensed establishment that served alcohol to the drunk driver. These are known as dram shop lawsuits.
Violations Of The Liquor Law
A dram shop claim must be based on a violation of Georgia's dram shop law. In this context, Georgia State law outlines two potential violations that can serve as the basis for a personal injury lawsuit:
- "willfully" and "knowingly" serving alcohol to a minor (someone under the age of 21)
- "knowingly" serving alcohol to someone who is already "noticeably intoxicated"
In addition, and in either case, the establishment must have known that the intoxicated minor or adult would soon be getting behind the wheel. If all of these conditions apply, a dram shop lawsuit may be possible.
Social Host Liability
The same liability that extends to licensed establishments in Georgia can also be used to cover social hosts, people who serve alcohol at private parties. Social hosts can be held accountable for allowing minors or visibly intoxicated adults to continue consuming alcohol, in the event that the guest goes on to cause severe injuries. Again, it must be proven that, at the time of service, the social host knew that the intoxicated guest would soon be driving a motor vehicle.
2-Year Statute Of Limitations
Like every other type of lawsuit, dram shop claims are controlled by a rigorous statute of limitations. This law is a legal time limit, restricting the amount of time you have to file suit. Georgia's statute of limitations for dram shop lawsuits is 2 years, beginning on the date of injury.